How to Freshen Up Previously Owned Items – Magic Vinegar Solution

The Wardrobe Boutique

Store front of The Wardrobe Boutique located at 1822 Spring Garden Street, Philadelphia, PA

Today I was out in the chilly weather of Philly pulling clothes for a photo shoot coming up on Saturday.

Since the vibe of the shoot is supposed to be a 60’s Bridgitte Bardot theme, one of my first stops was a second-hand store I really like.  The Wardrobe Boutique is the retail/store portion of the non-profit Career Wardrobe.

So when I was browsing I came across some fabulous pieces for the shoot but also a few designer pieces for myself!

When I got my purchases home, I saw that one needed a bit of cleaning/freshening up.

This particular piece was a wool scarf and I have an easy solution to cleaning and refreshing such an item.  Follow the pics and instructions below!

Step 1: Make a solution of 1 cup distilled water + 1/4 cup white vinegar + 1/2 Tbsp. Febreeze Original

Magic Vinegar Solution 1

These are the 3 ingredients needed to make my Magic Vinegar Solution to freshen/clean fabrics.

Magic Vinegar Solution 2

Once the boiled tap water is cooled, you’ll have distilled water.
Add the other ingredients at this point to create my Magic Vinegar Solution!

Magic Vinegar Solution 3

My Magic Vinegar Solution is clear & won’t stain clothing.

Step 2: Lay scarf out on a flat surface

Magic Vinegar Solution 4

On a clean towel, I laid the scarf out flat on the floor.

Step 3: Take a clean dry washcloth and dip it into the solution

Magic Vinegar Solution 5

Dipping a clean washcloth in my Magic Vinegar Solution.

Step 4: Gently but firmly apply the solution to the scarf.

Magic Vinegar Solution 6

Applying my Magic Vinegar Solution to the first side of the wool scarf.

Magic Vinegar Solution 7

Adding my Magic Vinegar Solution to the second side of the wool scarf.

Step 5: Use the dry part of the washcloth to vigorously rub over the are where you just put the solution

Magic Vinegar Solution 8

Gently but firmly rubbing my Magic Vinegar Solution into the first side of the wool scarf.

Magic Vinegar Solution 9

Gently but firmly rubbing my Magic Vinegar Solution into the other side of the wool scarf.

***Tip: No area should ever be soaked or saturated with the solution.***

Step 6: Any areas where there are stains, you may need to add a bit more solution and repeat step 5 a few times.

Step 7: Once you have gone over both sides of the scarf, hang it in a place to air dry.

Magic Vinegar Solution 10

Here I’ve hung the wool scarf in a closet to allow my Magic Vinegar Solution to dry . The scarf will come out crisp, clean & fresh!

Test my Magic Vinegar Solution out today and let me know how much $$$ it saved you and how fresh your clothes are!

Leave comments below.

Let me know your fashion take in the comment section below!

